.

APS Redistricting: Emory University Weighs In On Proposed Coan Closure

'It is our hope that you will reconsider your decision to close Coan Middle School.'

Editor's note: Emory University, which has deep ties to Coan Middle School sent this letter, dated March 12, advocating against its closure to Atlanta Public Schools Superintendent Erroll B. Davis Jr. The University shared its letter with East Atlanta Patch.

Dear Superintendent Davis,

We have some concerns, noted below, about your recommendation released last week that listed as one of the schools that Atlanta Public Schools would close as part of its school redistricting. It is our hope that you will reconsider your decision to close Coan Middle School and that you or your representative would be available to meet with us and officials of the Zeist Foundation, Families First, the H.J. Russell and Company, and Pastor Toni Belin-Ingram to discuss our concerns.

As you may know, Coan is the site of Emory’s most ambitious university-community-school partnership, and the culmination of more than 15 years of Emory’s collaboration with APS and a wide range of community partners in the Edgewood neighborhood. Emory University has a long history of partnering with Atlanta Public Schools to enhance educational opportunities and improve learning outcomes. Our faculty, staff, and students are currently engaged in many APS schools at all levels throughout the district. Our partnerships include a wide range of activities including student mentors, a nationally acclaimed urban debate program, teacher enrichment and professional development to improve math and science instruction, and the placement of pre-­service teachers and teaching interns in APS classrooms, to name but a few.

I am writing to provide you with a brief of our history and work with the Edgewood community and its schools, and in particular Graduation Generation, Emory’s flagship university-community­-school partnership. Emory’s involvement in the Edgewood neighborhood dates to the early 1990s when the late Dr. George Bramley, then head of pediatrics in Emory’s School of Medicine, founded the Whitefoord Community Program, anchored by the state’s first school-­based health clinic at . Since its founding in 1994, the full­-service health clinic has been staffed by Emory physicians, residents, and student volunteers, and additional school-based health clinics have been established at Coan Middle School, , and . Over the years, the Whitefoord Community Program has expanded its programmatic offerings to include a variety of programs in support of child and family development, and most recently the development of affordable housing, due largely to the generous support of the Zeist Foundation, which was founded by the Brumley family. In addition, over the past five years, Emory, through its Community Building and Social Change Fellows Program, has invested over $300,000 in the Edgewood Community, working with the Zeist Foundation, the Whitefoord Community Program, Mayson Avenue Cooperative, residents, and other organizations to enhance the place-based community building underway and to foster stronger connections with the neighborhood’s public schools.

One year ago School. Graduation Generation is a collaborative, comprehensive, cross-sector, community-based initiative designed to fully mobilize a community’s assets in support of its schools to increase the academic achievement and personal development of Coan students as a means to lower the dropout rate and increase high school graduation rates. Graduation Generation is led by an executive committee comprised of representatives from Coan Middle School, Atlanta Public Schools, Communities In Schools of Atlanta, and Emory University’s Office of University-Community Partnerships. A governing council, consisting of a broad group of stakeholders who are deeply invested and committed to the success of Graduation Generation, includes representatives from Atlanta Public Schools (Middle School Transformation, central APS administration), the Zeist Foundation, the Whitefoord Community Program, Mayson Avenue Cooperative, Greater Smith Chapel, and residents, business leaders, and parents.

Graduation Generation was made possible by a $1 million gift from an Emory alumnus and other gifts that have been raised on behalf of Graduation Generation. Emory and Communities In Schools have leveraged additional funds in direct support of Graduation Generation programs and activities. Additional investments in support of Graduation Generation and the Edgewood Community have also come from local philanthropic organizations such as the Zeist Foundation and the United Way of Metropolitan Atlanta. The Zeist Foundation alone has invested more than $20 million in Edgewood. Of particular note is the Zeist Foundation’s development of 140 units of affordable housing (designed especially for families) that are now coming on line and are within two to three blocks of Whitefoord Elementary and Coan Middle schools.

Investments through Graduation Generation have primarily supported three interconnected sets of activities that strengthen and enhance student engagement, parent engagement, and teacher engagement, three of the most important determinants for preventing school drop-out based on extensive national research. These funds have been used to hire teachers, provide training and curricular enhancement, particularly as it relates to problem-based learning that is directly tied to the school’s community garden, a wide variety of student enrichment activities that included supporting more than 103 Coan students in attending summer programs last year (artistic, academic, athletic) at Emory and other area colleges and universities, and an extensive orientation program for all rising sixth graders and their families that was held prior to the start of the current school year, to name but a few.

Though our collective efforts are but a year old, there are many positive signs that this strategic approach is succeeding. Coan teachers, students, and parents have a newfound sense of hope and optimism, and there are many signs that the culture at Coan has begun to shift. At the most recent Graduation Generation Leadership Council meeting, APS officials shared information based on their tracking of middle school performance this academic year that indicated that the rates for chronic absenteeism and disciplinary' actions at Coan Middle School are below the APS benchmarks for middle schools. They also noted that Coan is distinctive among middle schools in that its trajectories for these indicators have consistently improved each month of the school year, whereas the patterns for these indicators are more erratic at most other APS middle schools.

The investments made at Coan through Graduation Generation would be very difficult for Emory to transfer to King Middle School. Emory chose Coan as the demonstration site for Graduation Generation for a number of reasons, including the substantial investments that have already been made in the Edgewood neighborhood, the extensive network of relationships and community assets that have been cultivated over the past 15 years, and its proximity to Emory which makes it easier for faculty and students to travel to and from Coan during the school day. It is this set of assets that our donor was most interested in leveraging in support of improving educational outcomes to enhance graduation rates. Nationally, there is a growing movement toward the greater integration of public education and comprehensive community development that draws on community assets and investments in affordable housing, health, environment and sustainability, economic development, public safety, and the like. This is manifest in such initiatives as the Harlem Children’s Zone, the Obama Administration’s Promise Neighborhoods, the Coalition for Community Schools, and Ready by 21, to name but a few.

All of the emerging empirical research on efforts such as these point to the critical role that a community’s social capital, networks, and assets play in promoting positive educational outcomes. There are only a small number of neighborhoods across America that have the conditions, context, and assets to support the further development and dissemination of this holistic approach to improving outcomes for children, families, schools, and neighborhoods, and the Coan/Edgewood community is among that elite group. In our view, closing Coan Middle School would not only be devastating to the children, families, and organizations in the greater Edgewood area, it would represent Atlanta’s turning away from a new direction for improving youth outcomes that the rest of the country is eager to embrace.

In closing, it is our hope that you will reconsider your decision to close Coan Middle School. We don’t know how — if at all — we will be able to reconfigure the Graduation Generation initiative should Coan be closed, though regardless of the outcome, Emory will remain engaged with Atlanta Public Schools and contribute in any way that we can to improve outcomes for children, families, and communities.

As I am currently out of the country, I encourage you to contact Ozzie Harris, Senior Vice Provost for Community and Diversity, to arrange a meeting so that we may discuss our concerns further. Ozzie can be reached by telephone at 404-727-2611 or by electronic mail at oharri2@cmory.cdu.

Sincerely,

Earl Lewis

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

ESL March 14, 2012 at 10:25 AM
This letter makes compelling case for COAN to be k-8 and to close Toomer. Kirkwood and Edgwood want COAN to stay open? Push to consolidate facilities SOD and quit trying to tell other neighborhoods where they should go.
Earl Williamson, RN March 14, 2012 at 11:11 AM
Read the letter. Emory University is articulating their reasons for supporting Coan MIDDLE School remaining open as a middle school. There is no mention of a K-8 model, nor is the Emory University and donor supported programming at Coan appropriate to a K-8 model. East Lake, Edgewood, and Kirkwood all support keeping Coan Middle School open as a neighborhood based middle school. There is little, if any, traction for a K-8 proposal that gets mentioned more by those NOD ... speaking of "trying to tell other neighborhoods where they should go". Coan Middle School can readily be brought to capacity while at the same time relieving the growing overcrowding at Inman Middle School. Utilizing Coan Middle School offers cost effective solutions that are geographically sensible and represent an effective facility management, something sorely lacking in many discussions to date.
Donor intervention March 14, 2012 at 12:44 PM
I think it is very bad precedent for a private donor to "weight in" on a public matter. I think it was very bad judgement on the provost behalf. While I am not arguing agaist or pro keeping specific school open or close, ( the community have all right to fight the closure), I find it unacceptable that the private donor intervening into the entire process that is funded by public money. Next step they will want to "weight in "on what teachers to hire or what teachers to fire... So if the kids are not from Edgewood but in Coan, they will not get into the program? Or if the kids from Edgewood but not in Coan, they are not entitled to the program? What a joke...building means nothing... Community does, so either you help community or not, there is no connection to the building..curious what's next..Somehow it reminds this (even in a different context, but of the similar precedent...) http://www.dailykos.com/story/2011/05/10/974786/-The-Koch-Brothers-and-Florida-State-University-Academic-Freedom-for-Sale-
Earl Williamson, RN March 14, 2012 at 03:07 PM
The Graduation Generation program is for all Coan Middle School students. It is funded through a $1 million donation from an Emory Alumni and administered by Emory in partnership with APS and others. The point is that the program is for Coan Middle School ... it closes, program ends. There is no comparison between the Florida State University situation and the threatened closure of Coan Middle School. As you noted different context, and different situation entirely.
Kirkwood Parent March 14, 2012 at 03:20 PM
There is definitely some traction for a K-8. I'm a Kirkwood parent who wholeheartedly supports it, and I've heard from others in the neighborhood who agree with me. So it's not accurate to say there's "little, if any" traction for the idea. As for the Emory programs and the Emory investment in Edgewood generally, there is no reason whatsoever to think those resources can't or wouldn't be easily transferred to a K-8. If you read the letter, Emory already invests in the 0-5 population of Edgewood through the Whitefoord Community Program. It then picks up the investment at Coan. A K-8 model at Coan would allow for a seamless delivery. One thing you have to consider is that if we manage to convince the system to leave Coan open as a middle school, King will close and all of its kids will come to Coan. That would actually be more disruptive to the Emory programs because they are trying to take a community approach that is modeled on initiatives like the Harlem Children's Zone and the Promise Neighborhoods. The 500 kids who will be rezoned to Coan IF Coan is allowed to remain open as a middle school, and that's a big if, do not live in the Edgewood community. At the very least, we have to suspect that the Emory programs will not have as much impact at the community level, as they were intended. Also consider that King serves Grant and Ormewood Park, neighborhoods that already have K-8 and middle charter options.
JB March 14, 2012 at 05:22 PM
While the letter does outline all the wonderful benefits that Edgewood has received from the programs (lucky you – we have to do it all by ourselves), it does not make a clear case as to why the same students could not receive the same benefit if they received these services at a different facility –or why the program is tied to the facility, not the students. It states that it would be “inconvenient” for Emory participants (it’s one mile, not 20). It implies that Emory (not Coan) may lose a $1 million private donation, but that comes at a cost of $30 million taxpayer dollars that could be used by Coan and 47,000 other APS students. You are spending a dollar to save a nickel. The author implies (and Kirkwood Mom reinforces) that this is modeled after the Promise Zone and therefore may not be successful unless it looks exactly the same -- it won't work if we put kids from other communities in the mix. While I applaud the goals of the promise zone, critics have also argued that it takes tremendous resources to achieve modest results. So yes, focusing these tremendous resources on Coan students alone, if it comes at the expense of all APS students – MOST OF WHOM ARE ALSO DISADVANTAGED – is self-centered.
Kirkwood Parent March 14, 2012 at 07:35 PM
JB, do you live in this part of town? Where are you getting that King is a mile away from Coan? It's 4 miles, and if you're familiar with this area, it's not the 4 most direct or easily navigable miles in traffic. If you want to get into real bottom line cost savings, you'd have to revisit the extremely unpopular idea of putting Candler Park/Inman Park kids into the Jackson cluster and zoning them to Coan. It's much easier to get from either CP or IP to Coan than to get from Coan to King, but I sympathize with people who don't like that idea. As for where Emory decides to focus its resources, that's up to Emory, don't you think?
Earl Williamson, RN March 14, 2012 at 08:03 PM
I also question the notion that closing Coan Middle School save $30 million. How? Note as well that the $ 1 million seed donation for Coan's Graduation Generation is leveraged, meaning that it brings in other private and non profit funding that frees public dollars to other purposes in APS. Yet another example of how an open Coan Middle School provides a responsible fiscal solution and central geographic location to the growing problem of critical middle school overcrowding elsewhere. The capacity is available at Coan ... therein lies the solution.
Kirkwood Parent March 14, 2012 at 08:17 PM
The proposal says that closing Coan will save the system $20-30 million dollars IF it's used as the Inman 6th grade annex. But that option is unpalatable to so many people that I just don't see how it becomes a reality. If the system decides to close Coan I think it will just be an empty facility. At this point it might be more likely that they leave Coan open and close King, bringing King's 500 students over to Coan, then sending all of those students to Jackson for High School. King is supposed to draw in students from Grant Park/Ormewood Park--great neighborhoods, but lots of people there have been using charter schools through 8th grade.
JB March 14, 2012 at 08:31 PM
@ Kirkwood Parent - My mistake - driving from the Emory campus is two miles farther to King (assuming all these volunteers live near Emory Campus). I do think Emory should spend their money however they like. I also don't think Emory should tell APS how to spend theirs –especially when it is so inefficient. Let’s put the “Lin/SPARK to Toomer/Coan is a huge cost-savings” idea to rest once and for all. Let’s say you have three schools, relatively equidistant from each other. Each school can accommodate 100 children and costs $1 million/year to operate. School A has 110 kids (over-enrolled). Schools B and C have 40 each (under-enrolled). So you spend $3 million/year to educate 190 kids. You could keep all three open and send some of the kids from School A to either school B, or school C, or both. You are still spending $3 million on 190 kids. The other choice is to combine schools B & C, closing one, and letting school A stay as is. Over-enrollment has no apparent impact on test scores, performance, or parental satisfaction as this is a top-rated school . You now spend $2 million to educate 190 students, and you get additional federal dollars to spend on B/C students because you meet minimum federal occupancy ratios. Because you are not spreading resources so thin and you have more parents working together at the same school, you have a much better shot at making the new school a high-performing one, while reducing your overall cost 30%.
Kirkwood Parent March 14, 2012 at 08:44 PM
@JB, everyone in the system except you seems to believe that Inman will need extra capacity very soon. So, to make use of your analogy, "letting school A stay as is" will not be an option. That's why the supt. mentioned using Coan as an Inman annex to begin with. Look at the proposal he released, I think on March 4th. It is using Coan as an Inman annex that saves the system $20-30 million, not simply closing the facility of Coan.
JB March 14, 2012 at 09:28 PM
I wasn't specifically talking about Inman. I could be wrong about this, but I believe the $20-30 million is capital savings from taking a new Midtown Middle school off the table ($30 million construction budget no longer in the plan) and using existing facility (Coan) as an annex - not operating expense. Clearly there is a huge middle school problem, and my guess is, they don't really know what to do about it - I haven't heard any solutions that appeal to anyone on that level.
Chris Murphy March 15, 2012 at 12:48 AM
The problem is, yes, the middle schools, and Davis has stated that- as far as capacity goes. The real elephant in the room is the educational quality at schools that are not in the Grady or N. Atlanta clusters. That's what the Kirkwood/Candler Park, Coan/Mary Lin fight is really about.
dina b March 15, 2012 at 02:22 AM
Earl, I applaud your comments. It frightens me to read the ill conceived comments here. I am really glad that Emory weighed in. It is upsetting that APS does not consider closing schools from more angles.
dina b March 15, 2012 at 02:27 AM
Ormewood Park resident. King not working as a middle school option right now. Wesley not working and ANCS is too small to work for Grant and Ormewood entirely.
dina b March 15, 2012 at 02:31 AM
It certainly does not cost $30 million to keep Coan open. What are you going on about? Let Coan become a better school and let SE communities transfer into it as it works for us and them. Right now, the only administrative transfer schools in APS are ones with much less options for improvement than Coan. Recognize progress.
Kirkwood Parent March 15, 2012 at 02:16 PM
JB, you're right about where the $20-30 million savings are-not in closing Coan, but in using Coan as a facility to house Inman overflow. That's why your illustration does not put the Lin to Coan cost savings idea to rest. The students at Coan, King and Inman need all three facilities-A, B and C in your example. However you allocate students within the facilities (combine B&C and use now empty C for overflow from A, or just shift some kids from A over to C) you save $20-30 million because you use existing facilities rather than building new ones. But you are suggesting that you save 20-30 million just by closing Coan and combining it with King. That is inaccurate.
Kirkwood Parent March 15, 2012 at 02:26 PM
@dina b, I agree with you that King is not working. What I wonder is whether Coan will work any better as a giant middle school for the whole Jackson cluster. If Coan stays open under that model, all of King will be transferred there. From what I can tell the most active and engaged parents in Grant/Ormewood Park use charters for middle school. Something like 95% of the students left at King are classified as economically disadvantaged, as are the students currently at Coan. When you put them together you have about 900 middle school students, almost all of which are in that same SES bracket. It's hard to make that formula work. I do believe that it could work if Ormewood and Grant Park families start utilizing the public middle school and we have the addition of great communities like Cabbagetown, East Atlanta and Edgewood. If that happened you would see the balance you need to make the school work (look at the SES numbers at Inman). I guess I'm just skeptical as to whether Grant/Ormewood Park will buy into the Coan plan.
dina b March 15, 2012 at 03:34 PM
@kirwood parent - I appreciate your response to my ormewood post regarding middle schools in our area. Our SEACS community meeting came up with the idea of keeping King open (since some MS are closing to the west and could then utilize King) and letting Grant/Ormewood/Cabbagetown/East Atlanta/South Kirkwood/Edgewood attend Coan together. We have a huge number of young active families with higher educations and incomes that have bought into Grant/Ormewood/East Atlanta. Just look at the GPPN playgroups. We do utilize Parkside now and the 2 charter schools. The middle school issue hurts Parkside elementary since a well functioning middle school is needed for more parents to invest. I do not have the numbers, but the active involved parents who have middle schoolers right now are a small percentage of the actual active families in our neighborhoods. In a few years, there will be too many MS students to be served by the charters. Will we invest? If you build it, they will come....
Kirkwood Parent March 15, 2012 at 04:00 PM
@dina b, I could get behind that idea. I am all for Kirkwood joining the neighborhoods you mention in an effort to support a great high school (and it's been hard to understood Kirkwood's desire to stay in the Grady cluster at all costs). There's no reason that effort can't extend down to the middle school IF there is buy in and a good balance of people. The neighbors you mention are the people we see at the East Lake Y, at Chomp and Stomp, etc. I think people are underestimating the truly awesome potential for the Jackson cluster. So, the SEACS plan sounds great to me if it includes all of Kirkwood. Do you think there's any chance the system will leave Coan and King open? It seems like Erroll Davis is pretty firmly stuck on a plan that involves only one middle school for each cluster. Does leaving King and Coan open fit into that plan? And does leaving King and Coan open leave both schools underutilized for the next several years? Because I don't think Davis will go for that.
Chris Murphy March 15, 2012 at 04:11 PM
SEACS has not taken a position on Coan, except to say that they respect the right of neighborhoods advocating for themselves (i.e., KW wanting Coan open and going to Grady). As the parent of a Jackson HS freshwoman, I would like to see Jackson use Coan next year during the renovation.
Earl Williamson, RN March 15, 2012 at 06:37 PM
Part of this conversation should move away from SEACS members proposing plans for Coan Middle School that divide Kirkwood into two parts, Inman Park suggesting it become an Inman Annex or 6th Grade Academy closed to the community Coan resides in, the Grady Cluster suddenly deciding Coan hasn't been long enough to remain at the table ... need I continue? Coan Middle School is central and critical to the intact and effective NPU-O neighborhoods of Edgewood, East Lake, and Kirkwood. It is a key component of our private public partnerships, a key element in neighborhood and NPU planning that emphasizes walkability and connectivity. Our schools have repeatedly been APS throwaways in re-districting (such as Crim and East Lake) and Coan Middle itself continues to recover from many years of neglect. It is not a object to be utilized for the convenience or political agendas of others. All three NPU-O community organizations developed and approved position statements reflecting consensus. None approved a K-8 model at Coan, indeed Kirkwood Neighbors Organization signed off on it's consensus statement by 3:1, a position strong in supporting Coan MIDDLE School. THAT should be driving this discussion. How best to utilize what has to offer as a MIDDLE school remaining open to it's home communities in partnership with others: - Geographically central - Fiscally responsible solution - Immediately available capacity - Public-private partnerships that save tax dollars
Chris Murphy March 15, 2012 at 07:57 PM
SEACS didn't propose closing Coan: Supt. Davis did. Inman Park didn't propose using Coan as a 6th grade annex: Supt. Davis did. It was an Edgewood parent/grandparent who proposed using Coan for Jackson's renovation year. The redistricting process is meant to solve building capacity issues. KW, EL & Edgewood have no where near the number of school-age kids they once did, hence, current proposals for closures (and past ones: Murphy (Crim) HS).
JB March 16, 2012 at 01:42 PM
@Kirkwood Parent - not exactly. The new midtown middle was supposed to take overages from both Sutton and Inman. Demographic projections show school-age populations in those areas increasing and school-age populations for the King/Coan area staying flat or decreasing in the future. One of the criticisms of APS is that they kept building schools in areas where there were so few kids that would attend school there (see BEST and CSK). So now they are attempting to put the schools where they project kids to be and reduce the # of schools in areas with diminishing populations. I can sympathize with the negative impacts closing schools could have on a community, but truly hope that by combining resources and implementing an IB program you will have a cluster that is more highly-regarded than Grady. As far as leveraging dollars from partnerships like Emory, I do have some concerns in this case. My guess is that Emory donates the medical personnel and APS “donates” the space, which would otherwise be empty. The problem here is that you are diverting tax dollars specifically earmarked for education to healthcare. While I do believe that health impacts your ability to learn, I have two concerns. First, masking healthcare spending in such a way may face some legal challenges. Second, and, more importantly, it prevents that problem from being seen and addressed through changes in healthcare policy and funding – which is what really needs to happen.
LCS March 16, 2012 at 03:04 PM
Active and involved parents that are willing to invest in the Jackson cluster will force improvement in the educational quality of that cluster. Period. How do you think Grady became so desirable? We (as parents) invested time and energy into making the cluster successful. Lin to Jackson is a viable, workable solution.
Kirkwood Parent March 16, 2012 at 08:20 PM
JB, I don't think we want to start talking about healthcare policy, but school based health clinics are in operation all over the country. They are specifically authorized by federal law (CHIPRA). In several years of teaching and practicing education law, I never once encountered or heard of a legal challenge to a school based health clinic. Oftentimes services are provided in a mobile unit that doesn't depend on "donated" space. At any rate, I suspect (and hope) that you aren't actually upset that these kids are receiving health services. You seem instead to be upset that folks keep raising the idea of transferring Lin kids to Coan. The Emory letter breathes some life into that idea. Hence your criticism of the Emory partnership, which any disinterested person would have to agree is a good thing. I don't support the Lin to Coan transfer either, because I don't think it's fair to ask Candler/Inman parents to do something we in the neighborhood have been unwilling to do ourselves. And I agree with you that APS has in the past built and renovated facilities without any apparent rational basis. Still, to the extent it is possible, it makes sense to use those existing facilities rather than build new ones. There is an option that gets Coan to full capacity without impacting other neighborhoods, and that is to use a K8 model.
JB March 17, 2012 at 12:20 PM
@Kirkwood parent - We agree on quite a number of things. And as I implied above I would like everyone - no matter what income level -- have access to healthcare. I just question whether or not this is the best, most efficient, and consistent way to get healthcare and quality education over the long-term. What people seem to forget is that Kirkwood also has Drew Charter, a pre-K through 8 school which also has very productive partnerships with other non-profits and private donors. Lin does not have a charter option. Drew has 840 students and appears to be a very successful model. So Kirkwood seems to want to be able to choose their school and force other neighborhoods to go to the failing school they don't want.
JB March 17, 2012 at 12:30 PM
This is all moot anyway - if Lin were to go to Coan - that would also end the Emory program.
Chris Murphy March 17, 2012 at 12:52 PM
The fact is not that the neighborhood doesn't support Coan, the fact is that there are not enough students in Coan's zone to utilize even half the building (and I am including Drew's kids here, even though all there do not come from Coan's zone). If- somehow- Lin's kids were zoned also to Coan, plus the Drew kids, there would still be an under-utilized school. You can visit all the relevant neighborhood and school numbers on the APS site; click Demographic studies.
Earl Williamson, RN March 17, 2012 at 05:29 PM
Nobody is arguing that Coan's current zone does not bring it to capacity. It is also true that Inman's current zone ensures critical overcrowding to as high as 184% (with inevitable declines in educational delivery). The solution is a simple excercise in map reading. Coan Middle School provides: - A location adjacent to overcrowded zones - A fiscally responsible solution - Immediately available capacity - Public-private partnerships that save tax dollars through program and service delivery J.B. you are incorrect that adding Mary Lin kids to Coan Middle School's zone would end Emory's $250,000 a year graduation generation program. It would not ... the program is tied to the MIDDLE school, not it's contributing elementaries. It is equally untrue that adding Mary Lin to Coan's zone would end the Zeist Foundation's Whitefoord Clinic at Coan, it would not. Again the program is tied to the MIDDLE school, not it's contributing elementaries. The scenario that would kill both these programs (neither costing any tax dollars) would be closing Coan MIDDLE School. A great example of false savings.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something