.

Home Grown Gets A '51' On Health Inspection

East Atlanta Patch rounds up some recent health inspection scores for establishments in and around the East Atlanta community.

, the popular Reynoldstown breakfast eatery and artists' showroom, received a '51' on its most recent health inspection report.

The June 20 inspection is a sharp drop from the '100' it received May 15.

Eighteen of the 20 violations cited were new infractions, according to the inspector's report, including failure to maintain potentially hazardous foods, failure to utilize clean and sanitize food contact surfaces and failure to unthaw frozen foods properly.

Here's the full list of violations:

OBSERVATIONS AND CORRECTIVE ACTIONS 1-2 Violation of Code: [.03(1)(a)-(c)] Failure of Person in Charge/ Staff to demonstrate and articulate proper food handling procedures.  New Violation. 2-2B Violation of Code: [.03(5)(j)1&2] Failure of employees to refrain from drinking within restaurant kitchen facilities.  New Violation. 4-1A Violation of Code: [.04(4)(c)1(i)-(iii),(v),(viii)] Failure to separate and store potentially hazardous foods according to the required minimum cooking temperature and bacterial load. Observed frozen raw fish above packages of cooked hot dogs.  New Violation. 4-2A Violation of Code: [.04(4)(c)1(iv)] Failure to store food items not in their original packaging in a container with a closed lid.  New Violation. 4-2B Violation of Code: [.05(7)(a)1] Failure to utilize clean and sanitize food contact surfaces.  New Violation. 6-1A Violation of Code: [.04(6)(f)] Failure to maintain potentially hazardous foods (i.e. poultry) at 41 degrees Fahrenheit while stored in cooler.  New Violation. 6-1B Violation of Code: [.04(6)(f)] Failure to maintain potentially hazardous foods (i.e. poultry) at 135 degrees Fahrenheit while stored in higher.  New Violation. 6-2 Violation of Code: [.04(6)(g)] Failure to discard products (i.e. soda syrup, etc.) that have expired. Fanta Orange dated 8/11/11  New Violation. 10D Violation of Code: [.04(7)(c)] Failure to label food items not in their original packaging with name and date.  New Violation. 11C Violation of Code: [.04(6)(c)] Failure to unthaw potentially hazardous foods properly.  New Violation. 11D Violation of Code: [.05(3)(g)] Failure to provide internal thermometers inside all coolers, freezers and hot holding units if equipment does not come with one.  New Violation. 12A Violation of Code: [.04(4)(r)] Failure to store food at least 6 inches above the floor.  New Violation. 12B Violation of Code: [.03(5)(i)] Observed employee with no hair restraint.  Repeat Violation. 12C Violation of Code: [.04(4)(m)] Failure to store wiping clothes in sanitization solution (50-200 ppm concentration)
Failure to replace soiled wiping clothes  New Violation. 13A Violation of Code: [.07(3)(d)] Failure to post hand washing signage at hand sink.  New Violation. 14A Violation of Code: [.04(4)(k)] Failure to store dispense utensils in food item with handle extended away; hot water 135 Fahrenheitor higher; or within a container with a closed lid. Observed in use utensils stored in stagnant water.  Repeat Violation. 14D Violation of Code: [.04(4)(n)] Failure to utilize gloves for only one task.  New Violation. 15A Violation of Code: [.05(1)(i)] Failure to clean gaskets of coolers, equipments, shelves, etc.  New Violation. 17C Violation of Code: [.07(2)(c)] Failure to repair floors and paint untreated wood on floors.  New Violation. 17D Violation of Code: [.07(2)(i)] Failure to install missing light shields.  New Violation.

Here are other recent restaurant health inspection scores performed by the DeKalb County Board of Health and the Fulton County Department of Health and Wellness for establishments in our community:

529 Flat Shoals Avenue
Date: 6/19/12
Score: 96


488 Flat Shoals Avenue
Date: 6/4/12
Score: 98


552 Flat Shoals Avenue
Date: 6/4/12
Score: 83

Joy Carter June 24, 2012 at 05:37 PM
I understand that some of these are serious violations. However, I have to question the inspector. How does one " unthaw potentially hazardous foods properly. "?
jennifer von June 25, 2012 at 01:29 AM
http://www.fsis.usda.gov/Fact_Sheets/Big_Thaw/ That is a serious violation. There is such a thing as a temperature danger zone, your hot foods must be handled and stored in a particular manner and your frozen foods stored and thawed in it's own manner as well. There are numerous ways to get a food borne illness by improperly thawing. These things are learned when you get your Serve Safe certification, which by law someone working there must have, therefore this is inexcusable.
Sarah G June 25, 2012 at 03:54 AM
This is so disapointing. I ate at HomeGrown often and always assumed that they cared enough about their customers to provide safe, clean, and delicious food. Their business has increased a great deal, but that is certainly not an excuse for providing the customer with unclean, unsafe, unsanitary food. I will not eat there until the score increases.
Yemi F. June 30, 2012 at 01:35 AM
Oh no! I will not eat there ever again...Why is it so hard to care enough for your customers and provide them with clean food? This is what happens when businesses care more about profit and not about customer service. Yuck!
Yemi F. June 30, 2012 at 01:37 AM
Sarah I totally agree!
Yemi F. June 30, 2012 at 01:38 AM
Thanks Jennifer for educating us on the real facts about these violations.
jgalloway July 01, 2012 at 12:57 AM
I eat there often, and I have never had a bad experience. I question the inspector. They have a great menu and service. I can't explain the score, but I trust them in the fact they will make it right. Sometimes there are things that rack up on an inspection, and their history shows they run a clean safe establishment. Let the smoke clear before you rush to judge. I plan on having breakfast there this week with a friend.
wila July 17, 2012 at 03:49 AM
Oh no! This was a favorite place for me and my sweetie to eat on Saturday mornings...We gotta find another place to eat...I don't want to get sick.
Bad Apples July 17, 2012 at 05:28 PM
This is not an isolated incident. I worked at this place when it opened and one of their first health inspections was pretty low too (not THIS low, but in the low 70's if I recall). They were so eager to keep business coming in they asked ME to place the inspection report somewhere customers would not be likely to notice it. While the quality of the food is generally good, they've been known to be deceptive about informing customers as to what exactly they are consuming. The owners consistently place profit over food quality. They served Eggland's Best eggs to begin with, but later switched to a cheaper brand. However, they still left little cards on the tables explaining the health benefits of Eggland's Best eggs, leaving the impression that's what they served. They also claimed to serve locally grown organic vegetables and meats, however they usually only had one or two items on the menu at a given time that actually met the criteria. It's been over a year since I worked there, so maybe things have changed in that time. Still, I'd be wary if I were to dine there again...
Harriet July 19, 2012 at 07:06 AM
I was so impressed with the fact that they served locally grown food and healthy choices...but to know that they are not honoring their commitment is disapointing....they should be held accountable....and the very low score...Yuck!
Harriet July 19, 2012 at 07:09 AM
I agree with you Yemi.
marcia m August 08, 2012 at 04:43 AM
Wow..did not know this....I ate at this restaurant often with my friends for b'fast..will not eat there until the score increases. This is so disapointing.
Pete cross September 12, 2012 at 05:24 AM
Thawing in dirty sinks or letting it thaw in water standing water.
Pete cross September 12, 2012 at 05:28 AM
They are still practicing poor food handling and rarely serve organic certified vegetables on everyday items. Also low quality items like eggs or canned items. Saying homegrown and using low quality eggs is deceit.
Alicia January 19, 2013 at 06:34 PM
I tried your restaurant for the first time today. I am very disappointed with the customer service provided by the counter staff. After being greeted professionally by your male host and provided a brief tour of your venue, I decided to sit at the counter. At the time, there was only a couple of people at the counter. The counter waitress walked passed by for approximately fives without saying a word. Then, a young gentleman sat next to me. Not only did the counter waitress stop to speak to him, but gave him silverware and provided took his order. Then, she returned to speak to me to get my order. First impressions are everything in business. I have posted these comments on several sites and will continue to tell everyone that I meet about the poor service provided.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something